Logo du Château de Meursault Splashpage

Avez-vous l'âge légal requis par la législation de votre pays pour entrer dans ce site ?
Do you have the legal age required by the laws of your country to enter this site ?



Quelle est votre langue ?
What is your language ?

FR | EN

The vineyards of Côte de Beaune

The vineyard of Château de Meursault spreads over 60 hectares in Côte de Beaune and the majority of vineyards are classified as Premiers Crus and Grands Crus. The typical feature of the Burgundy parceling is that all the vines are shared out over more than one hundred parcels of land. They are situated within an average radius of 10 kilometers around the Château and the smallest measuring just 10 ares (1 are = 10 m2).

Des vignes en Côte de Beaune

Control of the vine

The vines of the Château de Meursault are ideally situated half way up the hillside, at an altitude of around 250 miters, exposed to the east and sheltered from the wind by slopes to the west.

The soil is rich in limestone on well-drained subsoils, which gives the terroir all its richness. The soil of the Château parcels is very diverse and each “climat” develops its own features. There are three major types of soil: hard limestone of the Jurassic period, marly limestones and old calcareous alluviums. This soil diversity is the major reason for the distinctive characteristics of the Burgundy wines.

The vines are shared out and worked by 18 vineyard workers of the estate, each parcel is thus followed throughout the year by the same person. The work in the vineyards requires great manual dexterity and long team experience. Control of the soil quality, the health of the vine stock, vegetal development and the yield of grapes are a permanent concern.

At the end of the harvest, the vineyard workers prepare the soil of the parcels that should be planted or replanted, watching over the dryness of the soil and its temperature. As early as the leaves start falling down in November, the winter works begin. The vine enters the winter resting period and when the sap comes down, the vineyard workers start preparatory trimming. Moreover, the vines are earthed up before the cold weather period.

At Domaine du Château de Meursault, and on a wider scale in Burgundy, we practice a Guyot trimming which is quite long. As a result, the vines are spread in a right way guaranteeing the aeration of bunches and a good vines’ health. During spring, severe bud removal is done to establish the production at around 40 hl / ha. Moreover, ploughing helps to aerate the soil and reduces the development of the weeds.

The bud removal is the sign that the vine starts to recover: the vineyard workers take care of the vine development ensuring that the vines are correctly fixed to the trellis, that is the key element for the good ripening of the grapes.

The harvest

The grapes are harvested manually in small perforated crates in order to avoid crushing the bunches. Since 80% of vineyards are situated within a radius of 2 km around the Château, it makes the shipping of the grapes easy and preserves their freshness. At their arrival to the Château, the bunches are immediately sorted. Afterwards, Chardonnay grapes are pressed and as for Pinot Noir, they are put into the vat.

In 2015, a time lapse, covering the entire vegetative cycle, was implemented in the Clos du Château vineyard. Once the images are recorded , we can watch the development of the leaves, the output of the clusters, flowering, fruit set, growth and maturation of clusters before harvest.

Les vendanges

Vineyard in Côte de Nuits

The Château de Marsannay owns vineyards exclusively located in the Côte de Nuits

CARTE_VIGNOBLE_LOGO_CHATEAU_MARSANNAY

www.chateau-marsannay.com

Clos des Grands Charrons, Monopoly of Château de Meursault

Logo du Château de Meursault Splashpage

Avez-vous l'âge légal requis par la législation de votre pays pour entrer dans ce site ?
Do you have the legal age required by the laws of your country to enter this site ?



Quelle est votre langue ?
What is your language ?

FR | EN

Des vignes en Côte de Beaune

Le vignoble du Château du domaine du Château de Meursault couvre 60 hectares, la majorité en Premiers Crus et Grands Crus, uniquement cultivés sur la Côte de Beaune. Typique du morcellement bourguignon, les vignes sont réparties sur plus de 100 parcelles et se situent dans un rayon moyen de 10 kilomètres autour du Château, la plus petite comptant seulement 10 ares. Les vins rouges sont produits à partir du Pinot Noir et les vins blancs sont issus du Chardonnay.

Des vignes en Côte de Beaune

Conduite de la vigne

Les vignes du Château de Meursault sont abritées des vents par les montagnes à l’Ouest, l’hydrométrie est idéale et les meilleurs climats se situent à mi- pente, exposés plein est, à une altitude d’environ 250 mètres.

Les sols sont riches en calcaires sur des sous-sols bien drainés, ce qui donne au terroir toute sa richesse. Les sols des parcelles du domaine étant par nature très diversifiés, chaque climat développe ses propres caractéristiques. On distingue 3 grands types de sols : calcaires durs du jurassique, calcaires marneux et alluvions calcaires anciennes. Cette diversité de types de sol est la base de la typicité des vins de Bourgogne.

Les vignes du Château de Meursault sont travaillées par les 18 tâcherons, chaque parcelle est ainsi suivie par le même vigneron tout au long de l’année dans une pratique de culture raisonnée. Le travail de la vigne, demande une longue pratique manuelle et une grande expérience. La maîtrise de la qualité du sol, la santé des ceps, le développement végétal, et le nombre de grappes est un enjeu permanent.

A la fin des vendanges, les tâcherons préparent le sol des parcelles qui seront plantées ou replantées en veillant à la sècheresse du sol et à sa température. Dès la chute des feuilles en novembre, les travaux d’hiver commencent. La vigne rentre dans le repos hivernal et lorsque la sève est retombée les vignerons commencent la taille préparatoire. Avant les grands froids, les vignes sont butées.

Au Domaine, et plus largement en Bourgogne, on pratique une taille Guyot assez longue pour avoir une végétation étalée garantissant une bonne aération des grappes et un bon état sanitaire des ceps. Au printemps, on pratique un ébourgeonnement assez sévère pour situer la production autour de 40hl/ ha et des labours pour aérer et limiter le développement des mauvaises herbes.

Le débourrement est le signe de la reprise d’activité de la vigne, les tâcherons s’assurent de sa bonne croissance en soignant particulièrement le palissage, clé d’une bonne maturation des raisins.

Les vendanges

Les vendanges sont manuelles et récoltées en petites caisses percées pour éviter l’écrasement des grappes. 80% des vignes se trouvent dans un rayon de 2 kilomètres autour du Château ce qui facilite un rapatriement rapide des raisins et préserve leur fraîcheur. Les grappes sont immédiatement triées avant d’être pressées pour le Chardonnay ou mises en cuve pour le Pinot Noir.

Un time lapse couvrant la totalité du cycle végétatif a été mis en place dans le Clos du Château en 2015. Au fil du montage, on observe le développement des feuilles, la sortie des grappes, la floraison, la nouaison, la croissance, et la maturation des grappes avant les vendanges.

Les vendanges

Des vignes en Côte de Nuits

Le Château de Marsannay est propriétaire de vignes exclusivement situées en Côte de Nuits

CARTE_VIGNOBLE_LOGO_CHATEAU_MARSANNAY
www.chateau-marsannay.com

Clos des Grands Charrons, monopole du Château de Meursault